• A Christmas Wish for Everyone, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2018/12/25/christmas-wish
    Inspiration

    A Christmas Wish for Everyone

    Merry Christmas and happy holidays, everyone! As I put my pen down and go offline for a few days, I have a Christmas wish for you: that you can relax and enjoy whatever time you have off, that you will indulge yourself, that you will treat yourself a bit better than you might at other times of the year. Leave…

  • Rachel Thompson, Austin Kleon, Nancy Blanton, Darren Rowse, Shaunta Grimes, Leigh Shulman, Nick Stephenson, 7 Experts on Author Marketing You Need to Know About, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2018/12/17/author-marketing-experts/ #books #marketing #author #brand
    Writing

    7 Experts on Author Marketing You Need to Know About

    This year, I discovered several influencers who rocked my world. Their advice changed everything from the fonts on my blog to my artistic career. They inspired me, guided me, educated me. While I’d been creating fictional works for years and mostly ignoring my online presence, I realized that 2018 was the year that had to change. These seven people, some…

  • Seahawks Glass on Desk, Thinking “Why Not You?” in Your Writing Career, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2018/12/20/writing-career/ #Whynotyou #writingcareer #RussellWilson #Seahawks #novel #books #writing
    Writing

    Thinking “Why Not You?” in Your Writing Career

    What does writing have to do with sports? Sometimes a lot. In 2016, I wrote a blog post about Russell Wilson, the quarterback for the Seattle Seahawks. Wilson, while in high school and college, was outstanding at both baseball and football but really wanted to play football. Unfortunately, he’d been told by coaches and experts that he, at 5’11”, was…

  • Five Fantastic Books to Help You Dream About Paris, Paris Gift Books, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2018/12/15/books-about-paris/ #books #Paris #France #InaGarten #EugeneAtget #TheNewParis #food #cooking
    Books,  Paris

    Five Fantastic Books to Help You Dream About Paris

    One of my favorite things to do is hang out on the couch and flip through picture books about Paris. If I can’t be there in person, at least I can be there in spirit. My fascination with the city is about art, romance, architecture, food, history, plants, and leisure. I loved Paris before I lived there and I love…

  • Cactus by Mikkel Bech, The Clever Use of Plants in "The Good Place", https://karenhugg.com/2018/12/06/the-good-place/, Karen Hugg, #thegoodplace #plants #cactus #tv #nbc
    Plants

    The Clever Use of Plants in “The Good Place”

    My new favorite TV show is The Good Place. Yes, I’m coming to it ridiculously late, but isn’t that the life of a busy mom? I’d read about it years ago and felt intrigued by the premise of a comedic afterlife scenario. While I love Ted Danson and Kristen Bell and especially William Jackson Harper (who our family knew well…

  • The Tense Theatre in The Witch Elm, Book Review, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2018/11/29/the-witch-elm/ #TheWitchElm #TanaFrench #book #novel #detectivefiction #crimefiction
    Books

    The Tense Theatre in The Witch Elm

    The Witch Elm is an impressive novel. It’s a riotous exercise in prose and character and suspense whose ending literally left me breathless. But it has one flaw that has disappointed hardcore Tana French fans: a suspect as the narrator. I myself didn’t particularly mind but apparently most longtime fans did. They yearned for her usual complex detective protagonist while…