• My favorite fall color tree, A New Vine of Ideas Is Ready for November, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2020/11/09/vine-of-ideas/ #books #plants #gardening #TV #music #inspiration #environment #writing

    A New Vine of Ideas Is Ready for November

    Hey all, I’m writing another quick post to let you know my latest digest, a Vine of Ideas, is ready for exploring. What is it? Well, it’s a compendium of the cool stuff I’ve found or been inspired by. I make it about books, plants, movies and music, good environmental…

  • Karen Hugg on Twitter, How I Discovered Peace in the Stress of Social Media, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2020/10/19/social-media/(opens in a new tab) #socialmedia #author #books #authorbrand #authorwebsites #depression #mental health

    How I Discovered Peace in the Stress of Social Media

    Social media has always been a source of stress for me. I’ve had a like-it/hate-it relationship with it for a long time. I like when I make a new friend via Twitter or Instagram. It’s wonderful to exchange shared interests and thoughtful ideas with someone new in your life, especially…

  • Rose and Journal, It's Time to Share the Private Side of My Life, https://karenhugg.com/2020/10/14/private-side/(opens in a new tab), #author, #KarenHugg, #fiction #books #writing, #journal, #authorbrand, #privateside

    It’s Time to Share the Private Side of My Life

    As a professional with an artistic product, I need to spread the word about the novels I write. But I’ve always felt self-conscious about promotional messages, either on social media or this website. I don’t want to annoy you, my reader, and I don’t want to create more commercialism noise.…

  • Petals, An Award Surprise in September, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2020/12/04/award-surprise/(opens in a new tab) #petals #flowers #Provence #books #author #writing #France

    An Award Surprise in September

    My phone rang while we were in the car. My daughter was behind the wheel, learning how to drive, slowing to a corner. Because I was a little stressed and a lot concentrating on helping her maneuver into a proper parking space, I let the call go to voicemail. Later,…

  • Special Needs Kid Drawing, A Mom's Covid-19 Diary: Keeping My Special Needs Kid Occupied, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2020/03/18/special-needs-kid #Covid-19, #coronavirus #momlife #diary #mom #specialneeds #kid #drawing #Seattle #quarantine

    Keeping a Special Needs Kid Busy During Covid-19

    Monday, Day 5 By Monday, our family settled into this new life of sequestration. My husband hunkered down in his mountain of work, my son started taking walks, my daughter practiced her saxophone, and my youngest, well, she is a special needs kid so it’s more difficult to keep her…

  • Software Engineer Desk, A Mom's Covid-19 Diary: An Overworked Engineer Husband, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2020/03/17/overworked-engineer-husband/ #Covid-19 #coronavirus #momlife #Seattle #diary #mom #outbreak #pandemic #softwareengineer #overworkedengineer #quarantine

    An Overworked Engineer Husband During Covid-19

    Sunday, Day 4 Just as my daughter started to recover from the flu, my husband got slammed with work. He’s a software architect at a large networking company. They make team-connecting software called WebEx. Well, after several governors announced school closures because of the coronavirus outbreak, parents across the U.S.…

  • Thermometer, A Mom's Diary During Covid-19: A High Fever and Bedroom Quarantine, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2020/03/16/bedroom-quarantine #Covid-19 #coronavirus #quarantine #Seattle #mom #momlife #diary #teen #bedroomquarantine

    A Fever and Bedroom Quarantine During Covid-19

    Saturday, Day 3 As I wrote in my last post, my daughter came down with a flu late last week. She’d been getting the chills and couldn’t sleep after her band trip to Ireland had been cancelled. While I’d hoped the mild fever she’d had of a 100.5 would go…

  • Teen Bedroom, A Mom's Diary During Covid-19: My Daughter Has a Flu, Karen Hugg, https://karenhugg.com/2020/03/15/covid-19-daughter-has-a-flu/ #Covid-19 #coronavirus #Seattle #Washingtonstate #quarantine #outbreak #mom #diary #momlife #dealingwithcovid #home

    My Daughter Has a Flu During Covid-19

    Friday: Day 2 So just as we were coping with my kids’ cancelled band trip to Ireland, my daughter started feeling unwell. A few days earlier, she’d gone for a walk with a friend who’d recently recovered from a flu. Also, she was home because her high school had just…